a moment with glory

3 Jun

glory – noun; a thing that is beautiful or distinctive; a special cause for pride, respect, or delight

Today is day 6 of my writer’s rehab. And the most honest and simple way I can describe how it has felt to be here is…”like home.”  Everyday I wake up with a familiarity of someplace I know all too well and the tranquility to not rush a single second.  Even when my mouth isn’t smiling, my heart is…and that’s how I know I’m home.  Memories are fresh here and peace is within arm’s reach.

Today, I was sitting on a busy, taxi-clad corner of downtown Chicago before noon and found myself in immense gratitude for right now.  As the sun magnificently beamed down onto me from the budding space between the skyscrapers above, I felt as if it selected me to be its Golden Child.  Even if it was only for that moment, right then, I felt chosen; compelled to thank God for my gift and go out into the world and share it.  Even if it was only for that moment, right then, I found myself in awe of the power of now.

For one moment of my day, planets seemed to align, peace filled the atmosphere, and, literally, nothing else mattered but me, the sun and that radiant moment.  The constant physical pain I’ve been feeling, the lingering decision I only have 4 days to make, and the to-do list I wrote this morning suddenly dissipated.

I think what’s so mystical about living in the now is that only a select few can actually do it.  Only those at the top of spiritual hierarchy gain access to that glory.  But today, something even higher than a monk or prophet sprinkled down some deity-like dust on my crippled soul just to prove to me that a moment, a second, a day, maybe even a life is feasible when the honking horns in air mute themselves, the sirens in the distance are not my emergency, the pain inside of me doesn’t belong to my body, and the world around me works in my favor.

this. is. my. writer’s rehab.

” ’round my hometown memories are fresh…’round my hometown the people I’ve met are the wonders of my world.” -adele

“hometown glory” by adele


Leave a comment